Skip to content

There are no words for this [Trigger Warning: Police Violence]

May 17, 2010

From the Detroit News: [Trigger Warning] Family grieves death of girl, 7, in police raid

Police entered the Jones’ family on suspicions that a murder suspect was present. Upon entering the house, an officer’s gun fired, shooting and killing 7 year-old Aiyana Jones.

“I saw them (police) running with my daughter out of the house. They had my mother on the floor, and they just kept me there for like two hours,” said Charles Jones, 25. “I knew it was bad, and they probably had my baby at the hospital, because someone asked me if she had any allergies.

“Her blood was everywhere and I was trying to stay calm, but nobody would talk to me. None of them even tried to console me.”

Erik Saunders, 43, a family friend, said the shooting was reminiscent of civil rights era.

“This is like 1960s all over,” he said. “Police have no respect for the citizens of this city.”

The Jones family is in my thoughts as they attempt to process these unthinkable events.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

