Skip to content

A Day in the Life

April 28, 2010

Yesterday was the anniversary of my name change, something that I treat as a more-or-less personal holiday. It’s a happy occasion, and I had a really good day.

Yet, like members of all underprivileged groups, I don’t get a holiday from the stress that comes from living with the kyriarchy. That stress doesn’t need to take the form of extreme violence or open hostility. Thankfully, I didn’t have to deal with that level of trauma yesterday. However, the little stuff tires one out, even on a good day.

Three examples:

Early in the morning, I got an e-mail about pretty much the greatest thing ever. Roller Derby. At Pride. In Toronto. I’m so there. Except, of course, I’m trans, so there’s the little issue of passports. I spent the morning playing scenarios in my head about when I’ll need to show my passport, and what will happen when I’m outed. Maybe I could get one of those enhanced driver’s license thingies. Maybe the state would fuck up my existing license in the process. Best to not risk it. I think.

About an hour before I went home from work, I got an e-mail from the office I was working to arrange my SRS through. Great news! They confirmed that one of the two insurance companies I have to deal with approved my surgery. Excellent! Now all I have to do is convince the other insurance company. And prove my sanity. And that I’m a woman. And raise funds for all the parts of my medical care that I already know aren’t covered by insurance. Hooray?

Once I got home from work, my sweetie was relaxing by playing video games. Dragon Age, to be precise. She and I were both caught off guard by the brothel scene (there’s always a brothel scene, isn’t there?) where players can choose between male, female, and “female” companions. Yeah. So that kinda ruined dinner time.

It was a good day. A very good day. But you know what? It could have been a lot better.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Maud permalink
    April 30, 2010 1:14 pm

    I’m sorry you can’t have a day, or here’s a thought – a life – free of those things, eastsidekate, but nevertheless: happy anniversary + one day!

  2. infamousqbert permalink
    May 3, 2010 5:19 pm

    totally unrelated awesomeness on etsy. 🙂

    http://www.etsy.com/listing/27490809/reginald-of-monoceros

Leave a Reply

