Skip to content

On Litmus Tests

April 21, 2010

NYT: Obama Promises No ‘Litmus Test’ for Supreme Court Nominee

I give up. As someone who’s had 2 1/2 years of college chemistry, your use of metaphor stymies me. I officially don’t know WTF the whole “litmus test” thing is about. Also, it’s about abortion.

Anyhow, aside from the fact that I’m staunchly pro-choice, I can think of a few other litmus tests folks might want to consider. No genocide. That’s so a litmus test, right? No torture. That’s so a litmus test, but that might come up, so nix that one.

Yeah. So this is basically all about disparaging belief systems that value human agency (in that women are humans) as if they’re part of some sort of arbitrary Fascist chemistry lab. Also, Fascist Chemistry Laboratory was among the least pleasant 2 credits I never earned in school.

Can we stop taking this metaphor seriously, folks?

One Comment leave one →
  1. Malta permalink
    April 21, 2010 6:51 pm

    Ah, but you see, the right has a strong base, so if Obama picks someone too acidic, the results could be explosive! 🙂

    Okay, okay, I will stop taking the metaphor literally. On a side note, I now want my own Fascist chemistry lab kit. It sounds like fun!

Leave a Reply

